Graduate Students

Breadcrumb
UCR logo
Abbo, Tito

tito.abbo@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAmy Litt

Interests: TBA

Jared A.
Anderson-Huxley, Jared

jared.anderson@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorMarko Spasojevic

Interests: Community Ecology, Biogeography, and Global Change Biology

Arquilla
Arquilla, April

april.arquilla@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorWendy Saltzman

Interests: Reproductive physiology, behavioral endocrinology, parental care, stress physiology

Berger
Berger, Ayala

ayala.berger@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorChris Clark

Interests: Ecoacoustics, bioacoustics, animal behavior and animal communication the effects of anthropogenic change on acoustics and animal communication

Tierney Bougie
Bougie, Tierney

tierney.bougie@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorMarshal Hedin

Track: Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: Introgression and hybrid zones in the Habronattus americanus group

Brady
Brady, Peggy

peggy.brady@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorMark Springer

Interests: Mammalian evolutionary biology using both biogeographical and phylogenetic approaches

UCR logo
Buck, Ryan

ryan.buck@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNorman Ellstrand

Track: Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: TBA

Miranda R 2021
Buckley, Miranda

miranda.buckley@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorPaul Nabity

Interests: The ecological roles and evolution of parasitic plants.

Cabrera
Cabrera, Haley

haley.cabrera@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTheodore Garland 

Interests: Exercise physiology, evolutionary physiology

Cartee, Marissa Profile
Cartee, Marissa

marissa.cartee@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: I am interested in the evolution of Alternative Reproductive Tactics (ARTs) in the family of fish, Poeciliidae.

buckley
Caudle, Jackson

jackson.caudle@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark S. Springer

Interests: TBA

buckley
Christensen, Connor

connor.christensen@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim E Higham

Interests: TBA

UCR logo
Cobos, Anthony

anthony.cobos@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNatalie Holt

Interests: TBA

Mitchell Coleman
Coleman, Mitchell

mitchell.coleman@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorLouis Santiago

Interests: plant ecophysiology, comparative stress tolerance, halophytic shrubs, land management

Mitchell's Research Website

Conway
Conway, Ryan

ryan.conway@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: Freshwater ecology, invasive species, and invertebrates

Cosma, Christopher Profile
Cosma, Christopher

christopher.cosma@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: Plant-pollinator interactions, climate change, community ecology, conservation

Research Website: The Butterfly Net: Lepidoptera Conservation Tool (R Shiny App)

Yuwei Cui
Cui, Yuwei

yuwei.cui@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorLen Nunney

Interests: Conservation genetics, population genetics, evolution

Serj Danielian
Danielian, Serj

serj.danielian@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorHelen Regan

Interests: Population modeling; Network Modeling; Population Risk Assessment; Population Time Series Analysis; and Network Synchrony Analysis. 

Dunn
Dunn, Tamsen

tamsen.dunn@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorDanelle Seymour

Interests: TBA 

kedwards
Edwards, Kristin

kristin.edwards@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: Bony fish evolution and diversification, particularly as seen through the lens of functional ecology and morphology

UCR logo
Firebaugh Ornelas, Ariana

afire001@ucr.edu
AdvisorMarko Spasojevic
AdvisorLoralee Larios

Interests: TBA

Sarah Gardner
Gardner, Sarah

sarah.gardner@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorPolly Campbell

Interests: Behavioral ecology, parental care, microbiome, reproductive physiology 

Matthew Green
Green, Matthew

mgree013@ucr.edu
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: Population and community dynamics of aquatic food webs, focusing on dispersal and species interactions with laboratory protist and aquatic communities in Sierra Nevada alpine lake-stream networks

Matthew's Research Website

Hall
Hall, Elijah

elijah.hall@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: Community ecology, plant and pollinator ecology, plant phenology

Hanscom
Hanscom, Ryan

ryan.hanscom@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorTim E Higham

Interests:  TBA

Elisa Henderson Profile
Henderson, Elisa

elisa.henderson@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAlan Brelsford
AdvisorChris Clark

Interests: Speciation genomics and introgression in hybridizing hummingbird species pairs

Elisa's Research Website

Amanda Herbert
Herbert, Amanda

amanda.herbert@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorTim E Higham

Interests: Functional morphology and biomechanics of fish feeding and locomotion

buckley
Kashyap, Mayank

mayank.kashyap@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: TBA

Keeler
Keeler, Andrea

andrea.keeler@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: Community ecology, global change, plant biology, biogeochemistry, plant-soil microbe interactions

Kelly
Kelly, Sean

sean.kelly@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark S Springer

Interests: TBA

Rahim Khan Profile
Khan, Rahim

rahim.khan@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTed Garland

Interests: Evolutionary physiology and animal behavior 

Su Yeon Kim
Kim, Su Yeon

suyeon.kim@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorHelen Regan

Interests: TBA

Kubica
Kubica, Sam

sam.kubica@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark Springer

Interests: Evolution of the mammalian vertebral column.

German LR 2021
Lagunas-Robles, German

german.lagunasrobles@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Alan Brelsford

Interests: Supergene evolution, population genomics, underlying genetics of split sex ratio and social structure in Formica ants.

Lay Conner Profile
Lay, Conner

connor.lay@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorPaul Nabity

Interests: I am interested in how plants interact with their abiotic and biotic environments. Specifically hoping to better understand how environmental changes such as habitat fragmentation and climate variation contribute to genetic diversity​ and adaptation.

Levell
Levell, Samantha

samantha.levell@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: Life history evolution of reproductive methods, specifically matrotrophy (placental) and lecitrophy (yolk)

Samantha's Research Website

buckley
Lin, Harrison

harrison.lin@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorPolly Campbell

Interests: TBA

AJ Lodger 2021
Lodge, AJ Krieger

they/them

 alodge001@ucr.edu 
AdvisorMarko Spasojevic

Interests: Alpine ecology, community ecology, biogeography, and global change biology.

Dylan Maag
Maag, Dylan

dylan.maag@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAlan Brelsford
Track: Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: TBA

Tesa Profile
Madsen-McQueen, Tesa

tesa.madsenmcqueen@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Marko Spasojevic

Interests: plant community ecology, biogeography, global change biology

buckley
Major, Matthew

matthew.major@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorJanet Franklin

Interests: TBA

Erin McCann
McCann, Erin

erin.mccann@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMarko Spasojevic

Interests: TBA

McNamara
McNamara, Monica

monica.mcnamara@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorTed Garland

Interests: Exercise, gut microbiome, early-life effects

Rajesh Neupane
Neupane, Rajesh

rajesh.neupane@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Kate Ostevik

Interests: Reproductive barrier's affect on species emergence and extinction

Allyn N
Nguyen, Allyn

allyn.nguyen001@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNatalie Holt

Interests: TBA

Nguyen
Nguyen, Catherine

thien.nguyen006@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorWendy Saltzman

Interests: Animal behavior, parental care and parental characteristics, animal communication, anthropogenic effects

UCR logo
Ostovar, Talieh

talieh.ostovar@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAmy Litt
Track: Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: TBA

Ota Profile
Ota, William

william.ota@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: William studies how urbanization and wastewater are impacting freshwater ecosystems, communities, and trophic structure. He uses the Santa Ana River as a model in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties.

Marie P
Palanchon, Marie

marie.palanchon@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorJessica Purcell

Interests: TBA

Peterman Profile
Peterman, Spencer

spencer.peterman@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorJoel L Sachs

Interests: Evolutionary ecology, symbiosis, plant-microbe interactions

Pierce
Pierce, Daniel

daniel.pierce@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAlan Brelsford

Interests: TBA

Robert Prather 2021
Prather, Robert

robert.prather@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: Behavioral, aquatic, and evolutionary ecology, mating system evolution, life history evolution, conservation, sexual selection, dispersal, and frequency-dependent selection

Gary Qin
Qin, Gary

gary.qin@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorHelen Regan

Interests: Freshwater ecology, anthropogenic effects, ecosystem services, environmental flow

Gary's Research Website

Ramadoss Profile
Ramadoss, Niveditha

niveditha.ramadoss@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAmy Litt 
Advisor: Lluvia Flores-Renteri

Interests: Plant population genetics and phylogenetics

Ramirez
Ramirez, Juan

jp.ramirez10@uniandes.edu.co
Advisor UCRMarko Spasojevic
Advisor SDSUTod Reeder

Track: Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology  (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: TBA

jrandall
Randall, Jason

jason.randall@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark Springer

Interests:  Molecular evolution and systematics in determining phylogenetic relationships

Remington
Remington, Michael

michael.remington@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim E Higham

Interests: TBA

Robinett
Robinett, Nathanael

nathanael.robinett@email.ucr.edu
Advisor UCRRichard Cardullo 
Advisor SDSUForest Rowher 

Track: Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology  (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: Genes, behavior, and evolution

Annika Rose Person
Rose-Person, Annika

annika.roseperson@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: TBA

 

Nicole Schwartz
Schwartz, Nicole

nicole.schwartz@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTheodore Garland 

Interests:  Evolutionary physiology of exercise behavior; early-life effects on adult behavior

Seth Profile
Shirazi, Seth

soroush.shirazi@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim E Higham

Interests: Evolutionary biomechanics, form & function, and genetics.

Seth's Research Website

Phillip Sternes

Sternes, Phillip

phillip.sternes@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim Higham

Interests: TBA

Thai Profile
Thai, Kevin

kevin.thai001@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorLeonard Nunney

Interests: Evolution of cancer suppression.

Tofflemire
Tofflemire, Michael

michael.tofflemire@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorMark S Springer

Interests: TBA

Marina Vollin
Vollin, Marina

marina.vollin@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim Higham

Interests: TBA

Whitehead Image
Whitehead, Natalie

natalie.whitehead@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTed Garland

Interests: Animal Behavior, Behavioral Evolution, Ecology, Epigenetic Inheritance  

Woodie
Woodie, Clara

she/her/hers

clara.woodie@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: Population dynamics, food web theory, and spatial ecology.

Let us help you with your search